Martial Arts Blockers!

I had a surprise for the martial arts classes today!  After working hard for the first part of class, I rewarded the Ladybugs, Rockets, and Explorers with using my new blockers!  I have two soft foam blockers that are good for punching, kicking, and blocking.

Rockets Martial Arts

We played Sneaky Ninja where students had to cross the room without getting hit by a blocker.  I had my eyes closed, so when I heard a giggle, or pitter-patter of footsteps, I swung the blockers.  When I kiai, they had to kiai back so I had an idea of where they were in the room.  When I made contact with a student, they had to sit out for that round.  The last person standing was the sneakiest ninja!  In the Explorers class, the last person standing had a turn to swing the blockers.

G. Explorers Martial Arts

Playing Sneaky Ninja with the blockers works on students’ body control in keeping quiet and moving thoughtfully around the room, their spatial awareness skills in understanding how to move around the room to be further or closer from the blockers, and to follow the simple rules of our game.  They had so much fun and can’t wait to do it again!

Rockets Martial Arts J. Explorers Martial Arts  Explorers Martial Arts

About Hilary Yip

Music Therapy. Martial Arts. Rowing/Coxswain. Creative Movement.
This entry was posted in Explorers 13-14, Ladybugs 13-14, Martial Arts, Rockets 13-14 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Thoughts?

