Lots of Bugs for Earth Day

Happy Earth Day!

"Lots of Bugs in My Garden"

 

 

 

 

 

 

In celebration of nature, I have been singing “There Are Lots of Bugs In My Garden” for several weeks with the Elephants, Seals, All-Stars, Monkeys, Giraffes, and Zebras.  I started with three basic bugs the first week: butterfly, ladybug, and bee.  The next week, I added a roly poly, worm, and fly.  This week, I added a beetle, ant, and dragonfly.

I. Elephants "Lots of Bugs in My Garden"Giraffes "Lots of Bugs in My Garden"

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The students picked a picture faced down and found themselves with a bug.  After everyone had a bug, I sang and called for one bug to “fly,” “wiggle,” or “roll” to the garden, which was my green scarf.  The students had to identify their bug, listen for when their bug was named, and then place it in the “garden.”

Seals "Lots of Bugs in My Garden"Seals "Lots of Bugs in My Garden"

 

 

 

 

 

 

All the students have enjoyed seeing the different bugs, learning the names of the bug, and sharing what they know.  We talked about the color of the butterflies (blue and orange), whether the bugs were same or different, and counted how many were in the garden.

The students gained awareness of the bugs that live and fly around in the garden.  Several shared that they saw some of the bugs on their walk or in The Parish School garden.Elephants "Lots of Bugs in My Garden""Lots of Bugs in My Garden"

About Hilary Yip

Music Therapy. Martial Arts. Rowing/Coxswain. Creative Movement.
This entry was posted in All-Stars 12-13, Elephants 12-13, Giraffes 12-13, Monkeys 12-13, Seals 12-13, Zebras 12-13 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thoughts?

