Martial Arts: More Than Self-Defense

Today, I gave a Coffee Chat presentation on martial arts, entitled: “Martial Arts: More Than Self-Defense.” (Powerpoint presentation: Martial Arts 2012 CC) I have been teaching martial arts to Parish School students for a year and a half.  I was very excited to talk to parents about what their students are learning and the benefits.

Martial Arts Punching

Students that I interviewed in the past two weeks told me, “In martial arts, I learned to fight.”  That word, “fight” came up so many times and I realized that there is a misconception of what we are doing in class.  They are getting so many benefits of reducing their aggressiveness, developing self-esteem, self-confidence, physical fitness, and cognition.  Their motor planning has improved, able to coordination arm and leg movements.  Sequencing 3-5 movement combinations instantly and actually performing the moves of what they are saying has increased.

Martial Arts Kicking

Also, I shared with the parents what and how I teach martial arts at Parish.  Then I had them participate!  They were great sports during each component and looked like they had a good time.  They had a little taste of what their students endure in a martial arts class.

The biggest question that came up was if their child was ready.    Some things to consider are their imitation skills, stamina, and focus.  If they have a great interest in martial arts, ninjas, kung fu panda, then they will work hard and motivate themselves to learn the moves.  Please email me hyip@parishschool.org if you have any questions, I am happy to talk about your specific child.

I am offering a spring martial arts class on Monday and Wednesdays at 7:45am to 8:15am open to elementary students.  There will be a complimentary introductory drop-in class in January.  Watch for an announcement in the Parish E-Newsletter to RSVP!

Martial Arts Lunges

About Hilary Yip

Music Therapy. Martial Arts. Rowing/Coxswain. Creative Movement.
This entry was posted in Martial Arts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Thoughts?

