Giving Thanks on Monday

 

I love Thanksgiving time because it is a time when we stop and think about things in our lives and say, “thank you.”  In music, I sang about giving thanks and student chose a picture card with an item that they are thankful for.  One class had time today to draw their own picture.  Sometimes it surprises me what students choose and what they deem is important to them at that moment.

 

 

For example, L. Seals picked water and juice and the Seals class have snack time right after music.  He must have been thirsty or ready for snack time!  Z. Lab debated between movies and family for a minute and decided that family is way more important than movies.  L. Penguin said thanks for recycling and drew items that are to be recycled.

There is always at least one student who says they are thankful for The Parish School.  It was heart-warming to see several Penguin students draw their own version of the Parish logo, being thankful to the school.

Students have asked me if I am thankful for music.  I am so thankful for music and being able to play and make music all day and everyday with my students.  I bring the music and they bring the joy in making music together.  To throw off the Labs class, I said I was thankful for computers, which I am!  I love technology as well!

About Hilary Yip

Music Therapy. Martial Arts. Rowing/Coxswain. Creative Movement.
This entry was posted in Color, Elephants 12-13, Labs 12-13, Owls 12-13, Penguins 12-13, Seals 12-13, Thanksgiving and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Giving Thanks on Monday

  1. Nancy says:

    Heart warming to hear and see so much to be thankful for from our precious students!

Thoughts?

