Prepositions: “I Give Thanks”

The All-Stars, Monkeys, Zebras, and Giraffes have been learning and practicing their songs for the Chestnut Oak Winter Program.  We are learning how to sing, use hand signs, and understand the meaning of our songs.  Save the date of Wednesday, December 12, 2012 at 11:00am in The Parish School library!  It’s going to be a musical celebration of thankfulness all year-long.

A song that we are singing together is called “I Give Thanks” that I heard at a Music Therapy Conference.  Here are the lyrics:

I give thanks for good things over me,
good things under me,
good things beside me.
I give thanks for good things in front of me,
and good things all over this world.

 

Through this song, we are working on prepositions of place.  These words of “over,” “under,” “beside,” and “front” tell a relationship between the good things and me, the person singing it.  Students can use these prepositions to describe their friends, objects, and their environment around them.  As a primarily language focused school, I provide extra support with music to the speech language therapist teachers.

About Hilary Yip

Music Therapy. Martial Arts. Rowing/Coxswain. Creative Movement.
This entry was posted in All-Stars 12-13, Concerts, Giraffes 12-13, Monkeys 12-13, Singing, Songs, Zebras 12-13 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thoughts?

