Commencement as a Teacher

“I learned how to make friends at The Parish School.”
“I loved math, science, music, and art.”
“When I grow up, I want to be a celebrity.”
-commencing students

Commencement is a time of a mixture of emotions.  On one hand, we celebrate the years of  learning, overcoming challenges, and memorable experiences of the students, families, and teachers.  On the other hand, we are sad to bid farewell of a place of comfort and love to move to a new chapter of their lives, forging a new path at a new school.

With the fourteen commencing Post Oak students, I had this one year together to create memories, teach new skills, and to grow together.  We certainty did in all areas of dancing, singing, and trying new things.  I am very proud of the growth they made and that I could be part of the time they had at The Parish School.  These students have taught me about teaching and about myself as well.  I will miss them, their special talents, and the joy they brought into the classroom.

My first commencement as a teacher, I look back on the year and I am pleased that I was able to help these students on their journey to achieving their dreams and making small ones a reality along the way.

Congratulations!

 

About Hilary Yip

Music Therapy. Martial Arts. Rowing/Coxswain. Creative Movement.
This entry was posted in Commencement, Heroes 11-12, Labs 11-12, Mustangs 11-12 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Commencement as a Teacher

  1. Candice says:

    Congratulations to you and your amazing work in changing the lives of your students, Ms. Hilary!

Thoughts?

