Balloons! Happy Birthday!

Today is my 25th birthday!  Students have been wishing and singing me happy birthday throughout my classes and all day.  Some even asked if we could stop class and have cake or a party instead of our music activities.  I did not bring a cake; however, I did plan an activity.  To celebrate my birthday in class, I brought balloons.  To start, I called one student and tossed one balloon to him.  I had him call another classmate and toss it to them.  We went around the entire class calling names and tossing balloon.  Then I explained that we are calling friends names and tossing balloons with friends.  I started the music and brought out several more balloons, with students outnumbering balloons.  Forced to share balloons, students interacted with each other.  In this balloon activity, students worked on social skills (name calling, sharing) and motor skills (tossing, catching). Every class had a blast and request that we have balloons more often!  I was surprised with a cake during choir; what a great birthday at The Parish School!

About Hilary Yip

Music Therapy. Martial Arts. Rowing/Coxswain. Creative Movement.
This entry was posted in Balloons, Dragonflies 11-12, Ducks 11-12, Owls 11-12 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thoughts?

